Draws Released for 2020-21 World Champs

Draws Released for PSA World Championships presented by the Walter Family

The draws for the 2020-21 PSA World Championships presented by the Walter Family have been announced, with top seeds Ali Farag and Nour El Sherbini finding out who stands between them and the coveted trophies at Chicago’s University Club of Chicago between July 14-22.

128 of the world’s leading male and female squash players will do battle in Chicago, where $1,000,000 of total player compensation – split equally between the men’s and women’s events – will be on the line for the second time in the sport’s history.

Farag and El Sherbini took the honours in Chicago during the 2018-19 season when Union Station hosted the PSA World Championships. To kick things off Farag, the men’s World No.1, will come up against local player Faraz Khan, who qualified for the World Championships following his win at the US Wildcard play off event earlier this month.

Reigning World Champion Tarek Momen is drawn on the same side as Farag and gets under way against England’s Tom Richards. 2017 runner-up Marwan ElShorbagy and Peru’s two-time World Junior Champion Diego Elias are also involved on the top half of the draw.

2017 World Champion Mohamed ElShorbagy is seeded at No.2 and will get under way against Hong Kong’s Tsz Fung Yip. His path to the final is littered with strong opposition, such as Wales’ Joel Makin, compatriot Fares Dessouky and New Zealand’s Paul Coll, all of whom he beat en route to the El Gouna International title last month.

The highest ranked USA player in the men’s draw is World No.45 Todd Harrity and he takes on Switzerland’s Dimitri Steinmann in round one.

Whilst Farag, ElShorbagy Momen, Karim Abdel Gawad and Gregory Gaultier make up the list of current or former World Champions in the men’s event, El Sherbini stands alone as the only player in the women’s draw to get her hands on the sport’s biggest prize.

The Egyptian already has four World Championships under her belt at the age of 25 and she will take on USA’s Haley Mendez in round one as she begins her efforts to add to that tally.

England’s Sarah-Jane Perry and compatriot Hania El Hammamy are seeded on El Sherbini’s half of the draw, while World No.2 Nouran Gohar features on the other side and she could face the likes of New Zealand’s Joelle King and France’s Camille Serme.

The women’s draw boasts seven USA players, with World No.5 Amanda Sobhy leading the field. The 27-year-old from Boston plays England’s Jasmine Hutton in round one and features alongside national teammates Olivia Clyne and Olivia Fiechter, younger sister Sabrina, Mendez, and Darien-based sisters Marina and Lucie Stefanoni, the latter of whom qualifies after reaching the US Wildcard play off final.

2020-21 PSA World Championships presented by the Walter Family : DRAWS

Men’s Round One Draw

[1] Ali Farag (EGY) v [L] Faraz Khan (USA)
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v Todd Harrity (USA)
Aditya Jagtap (IND) v [10] Miguel Rodriguez (COL)

[16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v Mazen Gamal (EGY)
Ramit Tandon (IND) v George Parker (ENG)
Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Leonel Cardenas (MEX)
Ivan Yuen (MAS) v [8] Diego Elias (PER)

[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Auguste Dussourd (FRA)
Edmon Lopez (ESP) v Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
Vikram Malhotra (IND) v [14] Gregoire Marche (FRA)

[12] Mostafa Asal (EGY) v Youssef Ibrahim (EGY)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Shahjahan Khan (USA)
Declan James (ENG) v Youssef Soliman (EGY)
Tom Richards (ENG) v [3] Tarek Momen (EGY)

[4] Paul Coll (NZL) v Tayyab Aslam (PAK)
Nathan Lake (ENG) v Victor Crouin (FRA)
Raphael Kandra (GER) v Alfredo Avila (MEX)
[Qualifier] v [13] Saurav Ghosal (IND)

[15] Mazen Hesham (EGY) v Max Lee (HKG)
Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Bernat Jaume (ESP)
James Willstrop (ENG) v Borja Golan (ESP)
Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v [6] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)

[7] Fares Dessouky (EGY) v Greg Lobban (SCO)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v Ben Coleman (ENG)
Lucas Serme (FRA) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
Karim El Hammamy (EGY) v [11] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)

[9] Joel Makin (WAL) v Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) v Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Patrick Rooney (ENG)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)

Women’s Round One Draw

[1] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) v Haley Mendez (USA)
Emilia Soini (FIN) v [29] Julianne Courtice (ENG)
[19] Olivia Fiechter (USA) v Enora Villard (FRA)
Menna Hamed (EGY) v [16] Tinne Gilis (BEL)

[10] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v Tessa ter Sluis (NED)
Hana Ramadan (EGY) v [31] Melissa Alves (FRA)
[26] Coline Aumard (FRA) v Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG)
Vanessa Chu (HKG) v [6] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)

[5] Amanda Sobhy (USA) v Jasmine Hutton (ENG)
Tsz-Wing Tong (HKG) v [25] Nada Abbas (EGY)
[21] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v Marina Stefanoni (USA)
[Qualifier] v [15] Yathreb Adel (EGY)

[13] Nele Gilis (BEL) v Nicole Bunyan (CAN)
Sana Ibrahim (EGY) v [28] Sivasangari Subramaniam (MAS)
[17] Nadine Shahin (EGY) v Tze Lok Ho (HKG)
Mayar Hany (EGY) v [4] Hania El Hammamy (EGY)

[3] Camille Serme (FRA) v Lee Ka Yi (HKG)
Mariam Metwally (EGY) v [22] Donna Lobban (AUS)
[23] Low Wee Wern (MAS) v Nadia Pfister (SUI)
Cindy Merlo (SUI) v [12] Olivia Clyne (USA)

[11] Rowan Elaraby (EGY) v Alexandra Fuller (RSA)
Jana Shiha (EGY) v [20] Sabrina Sobhy (USA)
[30] Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v Farida Mohamed (EGY)
Ineta Mackevica (LAT) v [8] Salma Hany (EGY)

[7] Joelle King (NZL) v Milou van der Heijden (NED)
[L] Lucie Stefanoni (USA) v [27] Emily Whitlock (WAL)
[24] Mille Tomlinson (ENG) v Rachel Arnold (MAS)
Menna Nasser (EGY) v [14] Alison Waters (ENG)

[9] Tesni Evans (WAL) v Nikki Todd (CAN)
Anna Serme (CZE) v [32] Lucy Turmel (ENG)
[18] Hollie Naughton (CAN) v Hana Moataz (EGY)
Lisa Aitken (SCO) v [2] Nouran Gohar (EGY)